2 Comments
founding

Thank you so much for bringing this issue of thoughts to the forefront and its fleeting nature that can be harnessed, in a sense, and observed in a constructive way. I’d like to share a personal experience I had several months ago that may resonate with others that helped me harness and put, seemingly, a bad thought “to bed.”

My wife and I set out to Italy and France this last Fall with another couple. We’ve (ourselves and the other couple) been friends for years, with a catch - Seemingly, I have had troubled thoughts with the wife of the other couple. And, it started up again on this trip.

From the get go, this person was acting up, seemingly, in a way toward me that almost became intolerable.

After some days on the trip of this behavior, I realized I had to deal with MY attitude toward this woman. For whatever reason, at some point on the trip, it dawned on me that she WAS NOT the problem, I WAS! I suddenly understood that I had to change my thought. As counterintuitive as this may seem, I went to work - I saw her as not this miserable “b….”, but her true self, which was as loving as anyone. Was it genes and/or upbringing (personal life experiences) that had enslaved her, hiding that true and loving nature she really had? Not sure, but it became so clear to me that this “bad” behavior was not her true (in a spiritual sense) self.

Guess what? Within a few days after changing my thought, consistently seeing her true self, she began to change dramatically for the good. It was, I must admit, astonishing.

Indeed, it dawned on me that the trick is an “inside game.” In other words, “troubled waters” are not necessarily OUT THERE, but an opportunity to change one’s thought from viewing bad to viewing good, more importantly, witnessing the truth.

I’m not necessarily a religious person, but I’ve come to an appreciation for the thought that the “kingdom of heaven is within.” Indeed, it appears that Jesus AND folks like the Buddha recognized the effectiveness of this truth.

Thoughts are fleeting, the perfect example of impermanence. Why should we hold on to the negative nature of thoughts, understanding that the truth of the matter can be witnessed by (mentally) seeing the nature of that gentle presence and the beauty of “being still “that can result into something unimaginable to the “monkey (mortal) mind.”

Thx again to you Nigel, and thx to all who took a peek at the above. Is it crazy talk, or just something that you haven’t thought about?

Expand full comment

Thoughts fueled by love hold the rocket power to transform our world....let's be the change!

Expand full comment